A Travellerspoint blog

Łuków in Lublin Voivodeship

Exploring a new city

sunny 21 °C
View Our Poland Stay on Vic_IV's travel map.

Visiting the downtown  Łukow

Visiting the downtown Łukow

We had been on the outskirts of Łuków (read: ['wookoov]), when we had some relaxation at Zimna Woda Reservoir with our local Ukrainian friends. However, we had not seen the city sights until I received an appointment at the clinic in Łukow, a county center in the neighboring Lublin Voivodship. My wife and I managed to see a lot of sights in our spare time in the city.

The monument to the 750th anniversary of the city/The graffitis we saw in Łuków

The first mention of the town dates back to 1233. The image above is taken from the Regional Museum in Łuków. It is a quotation about the Łuków Land, "...between Rus and the Duchy of Krakow there is a province, in four days' journey from Krakow, commonly known as Łuków, numerously inhabited, whose inhabitants call themselves Christians..." - From the bull of Pope Innocent IV, 1254
The origin of the city name brings us to the word "meadow". In 1369, Casimir the Great granted Łuków the rights of a free city.

The statue of King Casimir the Great in the courtyard of the Regional Museum in Łukow

The statue of King Casimir the Great in the courtyard of the Regional Museum in Łukow

The statue of King Władysław II Jagiełło in the courtyard of the Regional Museum in Łukow

The statue of King Władysław II Jagiełło in the courtyard of the Regional Museum in Łukow

The inscription at the statue reads, "Location privilege to the city of Łuków was given by King Władysław Jagiełło on June 23, 1403."

Another Polish king - Władysław II Jagiełło – issued the privilege of June 23, 1403, which transferred Łuków from Polish law to Magdeburg law. In May 1455, King Casimir IV Jagiellon gave the town the privilege of a weekly market, which was to take place every Monday.
Łuków can boast of several interesting sights, and we managed to pay a visit to several of them:

  • Solidarity and Freedom Square with its fountain and Henryk Sienkiewicz monument;
  • The City Council building;
  • The Regional Museum that was Szaniawski boarding school. Now it is one of the most valuable and oldest monuments of Łuków. The building is about 300 years old. The former dormitory building for boys who studied at the school of Piarist priests houses the Regional Museum now.
  • The railway station was built in 1866, thanks to the construction of the Warsaw-Terespol railway line.
  • Transfiguration Church, a Baroque temple that used to belong to the Piarist monastery complex. The church and monastery were founded in 1762. The church has preserved equipment from the eighteenth century. The monastery now houses a Medical High School.
  • Exaltation of the Cross Church that used to belong to the Bernardine monastery complex. The Bernardine monastery complex includes the church of the monastery, the belfry, and the church cemetery. Its construction was completed in 1770.


Tõrva (Estonia)
Lazdijai (Lithuania)
Voisins le Bretonneux (France)
Baraniwka (Ukraine)
We found out these above-mentioned cities are partner cities of Łuków.

The railway station

The railway station is considered a real pearl of Polish-style architecture. It was built in a neoclassical style during the construction of the Warsaw - Terespol railway line launched in 1867. The subsequent connections of Łuków with Dęblin, Lublin, and Skierniewice created one of the most important railway junctions. The main station building was significantly destroyed during the World War I.

The railway station in  Łuków

The railway station in Łuków

The reconstruction of the building started in 1918 and was completed after three years. During the reconstruction, it was decided to give it a new character. The new form, the so-called Polish style, still refers to the original neoclassical style, which emphasizes the continuity of the history of the Polish nation.

ba17aab0-267f-11ef-b47f-99886ac0a111.jpgb957dd20-267f-11ef-b47f-99886ac0a111.jpgThe central altar of Transfiguration Church, Łuków

The central altar of Transfiguration Church, Łuków

St.Joseph and Child Jesus / St.Stanislaw Kostka
The Mission Cross in front of Transfiguration Church / The image of the Black Madonna of Częstochowa
The Martyrs of Podlasie, Transfiguration Church, Łuków

The Martyrs of Podlasie, Transfiguration Church, Łuków

The sun dial at the former monastery building in Gabriel Narutowicz Square, Łukow

The sun dial at the former monastery building in Gabriel Narutowicz Square, Łukow

The Liberty Oak in Gabriel Narutowicz Square, Łuków

The Liberty Oak in Gabriel Narutowicz Square, Łuków

According to the memorial plaque at the foot of the Oak, the independence recovery was celebrated with planting the Liberty Oak, November 1918.

Transfiguration Church at Gabriel Narutowicz Square
Transfiguration Church is associated with bringing the Piarist Order to Łuków. The order was officially known as the Order of Poor Clerics Regular of the Mother of God of the Pious Schools. It was founded in 1617 by Spanish priest Joseph Calasanz. They are the oldest religious order dedicated to education. Their primary mission was to provide free education for poor children. To invite the Piarists to Łuków was an initiative of a group of eminent noble families of the Łuków region in the second half of the 17th century. That group was primarily interested in the educational activities of the order.

The All-Seeing Eye above the altar of  Transfiguration Church, Łuków

The All-Seeing Eye above the altar of Transfiguration Church, Łuków

Archangel St.Michael, Transfiguration Church / St.Andrew of Padua, Transfiguration Church, Łuków

The construction of the present church began in 1733. The leading late Baroque architects, who were employed in Poland at that time, were active participants of the project: the outstanding architect Paweł Antoni Fontana (1696-1765) and Antonio Solari (1700-1763), the court architect of King August III, who is responsible for the reconstruction of the Royal Castle in Warsaw. They developed the project and managed the construction until 1752. The entire construction of the temple and the monastery was completed in 1762.

January Uprising graffiti,  Łuków

January Uprising graffiti, Łuków

January 1863 Uprising memorial, Łukow

January 1863 Uprising memorial, Łukow


Transfiguration Сhurch is closely connected with the name of the famous Fr. Stanisław Brzóska (1832-1865), the church dean, who is called the last insurgent of the National Uprising of 1863. He served in Łuków from 1860. At that time he belonged to the underground anti-governmental organizations. The priest quickly gained popularity throughout the city thanks to his care of the sick and the poor. However, the greatest fame was brought to him by his solemn patriotic sermons, during which he preached Polish independence. Therefore, the local Russian officers became interested in the anti-Russian priest. He was arrested on November 27, 1861, for his «subversive activities" and was taken to heavy prisons in the Zamość Fortress. Thanks to the intervention of the church hierarchs, he left the terrible prison after three months.
Despite the constant police supervision, Fr. Stanisław Brzóska, almost immediately after returning to Łuków, resumed his independence struggle. In the autumn of 1862, he became an underground head of the city and began preparations for the uprising. On the night of the outbreak of the Uprising - January 23, 1863 — Fr. Stanisław Brzóska attacked the Russian garrison with his unit.


He continued to take part in the biggest clashes in Podlasie and the Lublin region: near Siemiatycze, Woskrzenice, Gręzówka, Włodawa, Sławatyczami and Fajsławice. In the battle of Sosnowica (March 4, 1863) he was seriously wounded. After the recovery, the National Government appointed the priest as the General Chaplain of the Insurgent Army in the rank of a general.
At the beginning of 1864, he organized a cavalry unit, which in a short time, thanks to the commanding abilities of the priest, became very famous. He avoided every encirclement. Soon the name of Fr. Stanisław Brzóska became legendary. The tsarist soldiers were afraid of the general, considering him a sorcerer or a saint.
In the autumn of 1864, after heavy battles, the Insurgent Army began to melt and had to hide in the inaccessible backwoods of the Powdłukowski Forests. They founded their camp amid the swamps and managed to remain undiscovered by the tsarist authorities until October 1864. At that time, the Brzóski unit was the last fighting insurgent party. At the beginning of 1865, only Brzóska himself remained in the forest hideout with his faithful adjutant Franciszek Wilczyński. In April, they fell into the hands of Russian soldiers and were hung on the market in Sokołów Podlaski on May 23, 1865. Their bodies were never found.

January Uprising memorial
The inscription on the January Uprising memorial reads,
To Gen. Stanisław Brzoska, the chaplain priest of the insurgent troops
and his adjutant Franciszek Wilczyński, who were executed on May 23, 1865 in Sokołów Podlaski
and to all those who gave their lives fighting for the freedom of their homeland.

On the 140th anniversary of the outbreak of the January uprising.
The residents of Łuków and the Łuków region
for the memory of future generations
September 21, 2003

Jesus Christ statue at the entrance to Transfiguration Church, Łuków

Jesus Christ statue at the entrance to Transfiguration Church, Łuków

The statue of Jesus Christ was created by a sculptor from Warsaw Bolesław Syrewicz in 1883.

We managed to visit three churches and the Nazarenes Convent in the city.

The Nazarene nuns chapel,  Łuków

The Nazarene nuns chapel, Łuków

The Nazarenes Convent / The kindergarten run by the Nazarene nuns
We found out about the activitieis of the Nazarene nuns. The main activities of Nazarene nuns are mainly parochial: catechesis, work in orphanages, hospitals, schools and kindergartens. Motto: Thy will be done (Fiat Voluntas Tua). Today Nazarene nuns work in 13 countries on four continents.
The Church of Our Lady the Mother of the Church, Łuków
There is a memorial plaque dedicated to Fr. Jerzy Popiełuszko at the cross to the left of the entrance to the church.
The memorial plaques reads,
Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good!
Romans XII, 21
In tribute to Father Jerzy Popiełuszko, chaplain of Solidarity, on the twentieth anniversary of his martyrdom.
The residents of Łukow Area
Solidarity Independent Self-Governing Trade Union
Łukow, 2004
Exaltation of the Cross Church, Łuków
Exaltation of the Cross Church, Łuków

Exaltation of the Cross Church, Łuków

66820820-267d-11ef-8942-7d31b6ea3539.JPG66e0f100-267d-11ef-98e1-efb9a8a7ad4a.JPG66a17700-267d-11ef-98e1-efb9a8a7ad4a.JPG6526e4f0-267d-11ef-98e1-efb9a8a7ad4a.JPGExaltation of the Cross Church,  Łukow

Exaltation of the Cross Church, Łukow

The inscription above the entrance door to Exaltation of the Cross Church, Łuków

The inscription above the entrance door to Exaltation of the Cross Church, Łuków

You can see an inscription above the entrance door to the church. It is a quote from the Bible. It reads, "You therefore must be perfect, as your heavenly Father is perfect. Matthew 5.48."

The monument to  Pope John Paul II,  Łuków

The monument to Pope John Paul II, Łuków


We enjoyed our visit of the Regional Museum and learnt a lot about the local history. The regional museum in Łuków is located in the historical building of the former Shaniavski boarding house built in the 1732. The building has been preserved in its unchanged form to this day.

The Regional Museum in Łukow

The Regional Museum in Łukow

We liked this statie of a legendary knight named Zawisza Czarny of Garbowo also known in Latin as Zawissius Niger de Garbow (1370-1428). He is famous as a kight undefeated in numerous tournaments, and as a symbol of knightly virtues. He fought in several wars and later was a political figure.
There is another great wodden statue that stands to the right of the museum entrance: a statie of a bear. The bear is on the city's coat-of-ars.

The bear statue / The wooden monument to Henryk Sienkiewicz at the museum entance

The museum building is owned by the Łuków District Administration. The museum impressed us with its rich exhibition halls with permanent exhibitions:

  • "In the field and in the farm": agricultural tools, folk costumes and household equipment from the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
  • "Not only honey": exhibition presenting the history of beekeeping in the Łuków Land.
  • "Łuków ammonites": a collection of fossils that are the remains of extinct animals from the Jurassic times discovered in the vicinity of Łuków.
  • "Local wood working artists" that represents the works of local amateur artists.

The Regional Museum in Łukow_Bread and salt as a traditional greeting at the entrance

The Regional Museum in Łukow_Bread and salt as a traditional greeting at the entrance

The Regional Museum in Łukow_ The welcoming statues at the entrance door

The Regional Museum in Łukow_ The welcoming statues at the entrance door

The Regional Museum in Łukow
The wood carving exhibition at the Regional Museum in Łukow
The  Ammonites Hall at the Regional Museum in Łukow

The Ammonites Hall at the Regional Museum in Łukow

The Ammonites Hall at the Regional Museum in Łukow
A model of the brick synagogue in Łuków/ A model of Stronghold in Łuków, the princely and royal seat.

The brick synagogue in Łuków was located at the intersection of Staropijarska Street and Bóżnicza Street (now Zdanowski Street). It was built in the second half 18th century, demolished at the end of July 1944 during the bombing of Łuków by the Germans. The model was made by Andrzej Zdrojewski. The model of te stronghold is an artistic vision according to the illustration of an ideal Polish wooden stronghold by Kazimierz and Tadeusz Mokłowski.

"In the field and in the farm" exhibition at the museum
The Regional Museum in Łukow_The Polish People's Republic exhibition

The Regional Museum in Łukow_The Polish People's Republic exhibition


We had some relaxation in the city park located between Rogaliński Street and Warsaw Street. One of its borders is marked by the picturesque bed of the Krzna River. In addition to the classic park values, there are numerous places of activity and recreation, such as an amphitheater, a fountain, playgrounds, a health trail, a skate park, and an outdoor gym.
Among the park alleys you can also find a unique place. This is the so-called "talking stones" erected here on the initiative of Andrzej Zdrojewski and the residents. Each of the boulders is dedicated to an outstanding figure of merit for the city.
The history of the park dates back to the 1930s, when its concept was created.

7b339e90-267e-11ef-a41d-eb22759b0bc1.jpg6c23b930-267e-11ef-a41d-eb22759b0bc1.JPG6c3b11c0-267e-11ef-ada0-a7dbef83bf14.JPGThe Amphitheater at the City Park, Łuków

The Amphitheater at the City Park, Łuków

Relaxation at the city park
By bus around Łuków
Bronisław Chąciński graffiti at School 4, Łuków

Bronisław Chąciński graffiti at School 4, Łuków

Josef Pilsudski graffiti, School 3, Kosciushko Alley

Solidarity and Freedom Square named after Zhdanowski

Plac Solidarności i Wolności is located between Międzyrzecka Street, Wyszyńskiego Street and Zdanowskiego Street. It’s one of the city's two main squares. It is located in the area of ​​the historic center of Łuków. Surrounded by the oldest tenement houses, it is a real showcase of the city. In the square, we can also meet Henryk Sienkiewicz himself and sit on a bench with him.

Solidarity and Freedom Square

The square was formerly called Main Market Square. It was bustling with life, filled with stalls and trade stands. This is where the inhabitants of Łuków and the entire area gathered. Until the 1950s, it was the heart of the city inhabitants' life. The ancient traditions of the former market square are still present in the lives of residents. Annual fairs and numerous events are still held at Solidarity and Freedom Square.
Henryk Sienkiewicz monument in Łuków.
Henryk Sienkiewicz (1846-1916), a great Polish writer, was born in Łuków Land. He is known as a Brilliant Creator, the Master of the Word, a Great Writer of Letters, and as the National Genius.

Henryk Sienkiewicz monument in Solidarity and Freedom Square

We also saw some interesting historical buildings in the city, and the County Office Building at 17 Piłsudski Street is one of them It's oldest administrative buildings in Łuków. This unique example of neoclassical architecture from the mid-19th century was built by Mateusz Ornano Chiaratelli (1788-1873) - the cousin of Emperor Napoleon Bonaparte and, at the same time, a patriot who fought for the freedom of the Poles. Chiaratelli came to Łuków after the Napoleonic campaign. He was the architect mainly of military facilities in Poland. Despite this, he fought in the November Uprising of 1831, which did not prevent him from serving as the builder of the Łuków County in the period between the uprisings (1836-1865).

The City Council / County Office building, Łukow

The building of the County Office in Łuków, built by Chiaratelli, which is also the headquarters of the City Hall, stands almost unchanged to this day.
The building of Henryk Sienkiewicz Municipal Public Library located at 24 Wyszyński Street was built between 1903 and 1905.

The city library building, Łuków

The city library building, Łuków

Initially, it was built for the needs of the "People's House", that is, an urban cultural center. From 1922, it housed an institution of a similar nature - "Ogniwo" Cultural and Educational Association, bringing together the local intelligentsia.
Although decorated with numerous cornices, the facade has not changed for over a hundred years. It only underwent some modifications and reconstructions.
During the bombing of Łuków during World War II, the library building, like most tenement houses, burned almost completely. It was rebuilt in 1947. In 1992, the building became the Municipal Public Library.

The former Nowacki Tenement House, now the District Prosecutor's Office, Łukow

The former Nowacki Tenement House, now the District Prosecutor's Office, Łukow

District Prosecutor's Office Building occupies the former Nowacki Tenement House at 28 Josef Piłsudski Street. This impressive building stands at the end of Piłsudski Street. It’s an impressive former tenement house from 1924 or 1933. It originally belonged to Jadwiga and Leon Nowacki - notary and wealthy government official. During the German occupation, this building was intended for the so-called Soldier's House and canteen. In 1945, the District Security Office and the Citizens' Militia were located in the tenement house.
The Nowacki family regained their former house in 1952. The rented premises housed a Health Center, the headquarters of the Polish United Workers' Party, a library, municipal educational authorities, and a kindergarten. In 1979, the tenement house was taken over by the State Treasury, then the county government. It was renovated, and since 1981, the Today Special School was established there. Since 2011, it has housed the District Prosecutor's Office building.

The building of the former Tax Office, Gabriel Narutowicz Square, Łuków

The building of the former Tax Office, Gabriel Narutowicz Square, Łuków

The 19th-century building of the former Tax Office, 3 Narutowicz Square, stands on the right side of Transfiguration Church. During the Russian occupation of the 18th and 19th centuries, it was a place of accommodation for the city garrison of tsarist troops. During World War I and the interwar period, it housed the Tax Office. In the Polish People's Republic, the building was used for the needs of the District National Council. It is currently in private hands.

The former power plant at 18 Warszawska Street

The building of the former  power plant, Łukow

The building of the former power plant, Łukow

There is the building of the former municipal power plant at 18 Warszawska Street. The design for its construction was created in May 1920. However, the power plant itself was launched only on May 17, 1925. It was important step in the electrification of the city. It was equipped with two engines: a German brand Dutza with a power of 75 Kwg and a Polish Ursus diesel engine with a power of 46 Kwg. In 1930, the electrical network in Łuków was already 13 km long and supplied 950 customers and 106 street lamps. The power plant served the city until the end of the 1940s, when it became insufficient for the needs of Łuków. Currently, the building is in private hands.

The Southern Krzna River, Łuków
The statue of St.Christopher and Child Jesus, Łukow
The inscription on the pedestal of this statue reads,
St. Christopher, bless our journey, make our travel safe and help us reach our destination safely.
The employees and retirees of the State Motor Transport, Łukow.
Łuków, 14/09/2018
Busy agrarians in Łukow

Busy agrarians in Łukow

While walking aling Warsaw Street, we saw a group of women in front of an office. They addressed us and invited to enter the office and to partake to a jubilee cake since they were celebrating their fufth jubilee. We could not resist the temptation and entered the office, where we enjoyed a couple of nice sandwiches, a piece of cake with a lemonade and some sweets. The company was run completely by women. We thanked them, wishes them good luck in the future and left.

Many thanks!
By the way, walking along Tadeusz Kosciusco Avenue, we saw a 24/7 flower shop with smart vending lockers for the first time.
This innovative shop is a unique way to purchase fresh flowers and bouquets.
The 24/7 flower shop with smart vending lockers, Łuków

The 24/7 flower shop with smart vending lockers, Łuków

Walking in the downtown Łukow
Numazu Restaurant, Łuków
A flowerbed in  Łukow, which we liked

A flowerbed in Łukow, which we liked

Modern apartment houses in  Łuków

Modern apartment houses in Łuków

Supermarkets in Łuków: Lidl and Stokrotka
Walking along The 11th of November Street, we saw this impressive war memorial.
The inscription on its memorial plaque reads,
"Awareness of our own past helps us join the long series of generations in order to pass on our common good - the homeland - to the next generations." - Saint John Paul II
To the soldiers of the Home Army, the National Armed Forces, the freedom and independence association and other organizations fighting for Free Poland and to the independence groups who faced an unequal fight against communist enslavement.
May the descendants remember that in the building on the opposite side of the street in the years 1945-1956. There was a county public security office where Polish patriots were imprisoned, tortured and murdered. Honor their memory.
Łuków, March 1, 2017
The residents of Łuków Land
The monument to the fallen railway workers, the railway station in  Łuków

The monument to the fallen railway workers, the railway station in Łuków

Tadeusz Kościuszko Alley, Łukow

Tadeusz Kościuszko Alley, Łukow


On the way to the railway station, we saw a huge educational complex that was restored with the funds of the European Union: NextGenerationEU - Henryk Sienkiewicz School Complex No. 1 in Łuków. The fields of study of the technical school include the following specialities: electrical technician, mechanical technician, economic technician, sales technician, IT technician, automotive technician. The Essential Vocational School has the following departments: fitter mechanic, electromechanical machines and devices, multi-professional department. The General High School for Adults offers qualificatory vocational courses (free of charge). The school provides practice at school workshops.

By Mazovian Railways to Łuków / By Mazovian Railways from Łuków

Posted by Vic_IV 23:12 Archived in Poland Tagged masovia mazovia siedlce oginski łuków

Email this entryFacebookStumbleUpon

Table of contents


Great statues. Some of the wooden ones look like giant chess pieces.

by irenevt

Yes, indeed! They do their best to preserve their history.

by Vic_IV

another interesting entry Victor!

by Ils1976

Thanks for reading, Ils! We couldn't help exploring the city a bit...

by Vic_IV

This blog requires you to be a logged in member of Travellerspoint to place comments.