A Travellerspoint blog

Eastern Villages

Exploring Siedlce County (to be continued, God's will...)

semi-overcast 15 °C

A side street in the village of Stok Lacki

A side street in the village of Stok Lacki

One day we decided to explore the villages located to the east and north-east of Siedlce. Thus, our hike covered about 20 miles and included several of them: Stok Lacki Folwark > Stok Lacki > Pruszyn-Pieńki > Pruszyn > Prushynek > Błogoszcz > Golice > Żabokliki.
The village of Pruszyn with its famous Baroque church turned out to be the peak of our hike. Thus, we were kind of pilgrims, even though we could not enter the church since it was Sunday afternoon, and it was closed.

On the eastern outskirts of Siedlce on our way to Stok Lacki

On the eastern outskirts of Siedlce on our way to Stok Lacki

Stok Lacki
The name Stok means “stream”, and Lacki (formerly “Laski”) means “slope”. It is an old settlement, a village and a former farm. This village with its 1,200 inhabitants turned out to be the biggest village of all in our route. I would even call it a small town.

On our way in Stok Lacki

On our way in Stok Lacki

We found out the village of Stok Lacki-Folwark (the first one after you leave the Siedlce city limits) boasted the Wyszomirskis Palace, a Neo-Renaissance palace built in 1875 for the Wyszomirskis by Bolesław Paweł Podczaszyński (1822–1876), the author of Neo-Gothic interiors, a recognized theoretician and architectural historian, professor of the School of Fine Arts in Warsaw, author of valued works in the field of architecture and art, and, finally, a collector.

5bd80100-6d09-11ee-9c94-b1bd8e1310f2.jpg64b54a80-6d09-11ee-983f-d3333888ff8d.JPG
Approaching the Wyszomirskis Palace, Stok Lacki-Folwark / This autumn bouqet greeted us in the village

We paid a short visit to the area o the former palace that is located off the main street. We kept in mind that the former palace belonged to a Special School and Educational Centre – a co-educational educational institution - where, as their website informed us, children and young people with special educational needs learnt in palace conditions, fairy-tale surroundings and, above all, in a warm and friendly atmosphere. In other words, it is a closed institution and not a museum.

6a19c0f0-6d09-11ee-8f66-4fd1f1b5cbb9.JPG683e2320-6d09-11ee-8f66-4fd1f1b5cbb9.JPG67a84bc0-6d09-11ee-8f66-4fd1f1b5cbb9.JPG674e6bf0-6d09-11ee-8f66-4fd1f1b5cbb9.JPG
The Communist era wooden sculptures with the motifs of Russian fairy-tales.

You can enter the old park, but you cannot enter the building. Never mind, we walked in the park and I even climbed the entrance steps of the former palace enjoying the views from there. There are several wooden sculptures in the old park. They were built in the fifties, when the palace belonged to a children's home. The wooden sculptures look very neglected and are falling apart now.

The Wyszomirskis Palace, Stok Lacki-Folwark

The Wyszomirskis Palace, Stok Lacki-Folwark

The multi-storey palace was built in eclectic style, with predominating neo-Renaissance features. Many visitors praise the outstanding architecture of the palace, its protruded central part crowned with an attic wall and preceded by a four-column portico carrying a terrace. The floors are decorated with impressive Ionian pilasters and a wide range of nice-looking architectural motifs. All those motifs testify to the great craftsmanship of the nineteenth-century designers and craftsmen.

St.John Nepomucene's Chapel, Stok Lacki-Folwark

St.John Nepomucene's Chapel, Stok Lacki-Folwark

The chapel is at the crossing of May Street and Palace Street, on your way to the former palace. The inscription on the patriarchal cross reads, "Lord, save us from air, hunger, fire and war." By the way, it's the only patriarchal cross we have seen in Poland.

The palace was erected partly on the cross-vaulted cellars of the wooden manor house that had previously existed in this place. In the first half of the 19th century, it belonged to the Roztworowski family. The historic park, whose original area was 4 hectares, dates back to that period. In 1858, the estate was purchased by the Wyszomirski family. The estate was beyond repair and represented the remains of the old manor house. Those remains were demolished and the count decided to build a new palace. Thank Goodness, the excellent architect – Bolesław Podczaszyński, specializing in the design of mansions and palaces – was available then.

670c32d0-6d09-11ee-870a-75457e2a1fdd.jpg66dbacf0-6d09-11ee-8f66-4fd1f1b5cbb9.jpg
Walking in Stok Lacki-Folwark / Walking along the main street, Stock Lacki.

428b5450-69f7-11ee-ba86-b54345d2685d.JPG

The palace was erected on the plan of an elongated rectangle with a protruding portico supporting a terrace. The façades of the shorter sides were enriched with bay windows and tympanums.
After the death of Count Józef Wyszomirski, the estate was auctioned off. It led to debts and discord among the heirs. In the long run, the palace was purchased by Count Brzozowski, who put the interior of the building in order, and the land of about 700 hectares was sold to the peasants. The palace and park complex, changing owners, was gradually devastated, which resulted in it being taken over by the Siedlce Magistrate. Thus, the palace building was used for public purposes:

  • for the Infectious Diseases Hospital (1919-1920);
  • for the Old People's Home (1927-1928);
  • for the Primary School (1945-1950);
  • and then the State Children's Home.

49c01df0-69f7-11ee-ba86-b54345d2685d.jpg48b6c440-69f7-11ee-ba86-b54345d2685d.jpg4a93c1a0-69f7-11ee-a835-652ebaad9817.jpg656d01c0-6d09-11ee-9c94-b1bd8e1310f2.jpg
Walking along the main street  in the village of Stok Lacki

Walking along the main street in the village of Stok Lacki

Like in all other villages, there are many roadside chapels and crosses in Stok Lacki.
4a692f30-69f7-11ee-ba86-b54345d2685d.jpg430d0770-69f7-11ee-ba86-b54345d2685d.jpg465c8090-69f7-11ee-ba86-b54345d2685d.JPG38c00150-69f7-11ee-ba86-b54345d2685d.JPG
The inscription on the memorial plaque of this roadside cross reads,
966-2016
the 1050th anniversary of the baptism of Poland
God bless our homeland

Residents of Stok Lacki
Panorama of the village fields, Stok Lacki

Panorama of the village fields, Stok Lacki


13008ab0-e7cc-11ec-a1eb-c3e529ca6db8.jpg13008ab0-e7cc-11ec-a1eb-c3e529ca6db8.jpg13008ab0-e7cc-11ec-a1eb-c3e529ca6db8.jpg

Pruszyn-Pieńki is a separate small village on the way to Pruszyn. The village is not very populous and has only about 400 inhabitants.

A roadside chapel  in the village of Pruszyn-Pieńki

A roadside chapel in the village of Pruszyn-Pieńki

We passed a roadside chapel at the village entrance. That roadside chapel looks abit different than dozens of others since its has, so to say, to storeys: the figure of Christ occupies "the ground floor", whereas the figure of Our Lady occupies "the first floor". The memorial plaque attached to the base under Christ's figure reads,

The gift of gratitude to God
for the second pilgrimage of our Holy Father to our Motherland
In the Holy Year
The Szostak family

c8abb980-69f7-11ee-a7c1-4bcf4eb26e66.jpgcde43df0-69f7-11ee-ba86-b54345d2685d.jpg

During our walk through this village, we saw a number of roadside crosses. This village if known for its memorials dedicated to:

  • Pope John Paul II
  • Józef Piłsudski
  • the Polish scouts, who fell in the WWII battles.

c6eb1dc0-69f7-11ee-ba86-b54345d2685d.jpgc6fd9450-69f7-11ee-a7c1-4bcf4eb26e66.jpg
Pope John Paul II memorial plaque / Józef Piłsudski memorial plaque.

c7ad0e30-69f7-11ee-8880-55e1a85b718f.JPGc6d21780-69f7-11ee-8880-55e1a85b718f.JPG
The war memorial looks very speciall indeed. It contains a great stamped Polish eagle and a memorial plaque that reads,
In memory of those who fell in the defense of our Homeland.
The residents of the village of Pruszyn-Pieńki
September 17, 2000
cf572ee0-69f7-11ee-8880-55e1a85b718f.JPGcf0f5070-69f7-11ee-8880-55e1a85b718f.JPGThe roadside memorial in the village of Pruszyn-Pieńki

The roadside memorial in the village of Pruszyn-Pieńki


divider_39.JPGdivider_39.JPGdivider_39.JPG

We turned left to Linden Street and walked about four miles until we reached the village of Pruszyn (450 residents all in all). As we approached the village, we saw fantastic orchards with hundreds of apple trees and a great harvest.

The village orchard, Pruszyn

The village orchard, Pruszyn


A panorama of the village of Prushyn

A panorama of the village of Prushyn

An agricultural panorama of the village of Prushyn

An agricultural panorama of the village of Prushyn


Entering the village of Prushyn

Entering the village of Prushyn


The village of Pruszyn was first mentioned in 1448. The parish was founded in 1430, when a wooden church was built. The settlement was called Prushchyna then.

a513fae0-69f8-11ee-8880-55e1a85b718f.jpga44b2ca0-69f8-11ee-a7c1-4bcf4eb26e66.jpg

The village is famous for its church - St. Nicholas the Bishop Church. It is a parish church built in 1807-1812. It was founded by Adam Suffczyński and Helena Chrapowicka. This church was built in Baroque style with a touch of neoclassicism to replace the original church that had been built in the middle of the 15th century by Jan Pruszyński, the village landlord, after whom the village was called. The original church was severely damaged during the fire of 1711.

St.Nickolas the Bishop Church in  the village of Prushyn: the memorial plaque at the entrance

St.Nickolas the Bishop Church in the village of Prushyn: the memorial plaque at the entrance

ae40c3f0-69f8-11ee-889a-2f63cfd42b4a.JPG

We read the black memorial plaque at the church entrance and understood that St. Clement Maria Hofbauer had taken part in the construction of the church before he was expelled from Poland in 1808. He is revered at the church, which is stated on the memorial plaque. The plaque also contains a quotation from the words of St. Clement Maria Hofbauer.

Praise the Lord and the Holy Trinity
In commemoration the dean’s service of St. Clement Maria Hofbauer.
In the 570th anniversary of the parish in the year of the year 2000.

Parishioners led by Father Bogdan.
"The most merciful God... Help us preserve our faith with His intercession, as we follow the commandments, which He pointed to us by the example of His life..." (St.Clement Hofbauer)
Church Street near St.Nickolas the Bishop Church in  the village of Prushyn

Church Street near St.Nickolas the Bishop Church in the village of Prushyn


There is a large roadside chapel in Church Street next to St.Nickolas Church. This impressive roadside chapel dates back to 1952.
The inscription on the granite stone reads,

Our Queen that ascended to Heaven, accept the gift of the very sacrificial parishioners
A.D.1952
The roadside chapel next to the village church,  Prushyn

The roadside chapel next to the village church, Prushyn

A view of the village center, Prushyn

A view of the village center, Prushyn

We saw another roadside cross and chapel along with a war emmorial located next to the previous roadside chapel.
The inscription under the figure of Our Lady reads,

To God Almighty for the gift of salvation
to commemorate our fallen and deceased ancestors resting here.

In the 20th year of the pontificate of Pope John Paul II for the jubilee 2000 AD.
Parish of Pruszyn
The roadside chapel and cross in Church Street,  Prushyn

The roadside chapel and cross in Church Street, Prushyn

bdf99380-69f8-11ee-889a-2f63cfd42b4a.JPG

The inscription under this roadside cross is similar to many other roadside crosses. It reads,

Jesus, I trust you
To commemorate the jubilee evangelistic missions
Pruszyn
A.D. - 29.VI - 6.VII.1999

The roadside war memorial is to the right of the cross.
The inscription on the memorial plaque reads,

To commemorate the deceased, perished and killed soldiers of the People’s Army, of the National Armed Forces, of the peasant battalions, who operated in Pruszyn and its environs
from the residents
02.05.1999
The roadside war  memorial in Church Street,  Prushyn

The roadside war memorial in Church Street, Prushyn

After seeing these chapels and the war memorial, we went to the riverbank to see what the River Liwiec looks like there.

The River Liwiec and the River Liwiec Valley Street, Pruszyn

The River Liwiec and the River Liwiec Valley Street, Pruszyn

We liked the old wooden building of the village council and the roadside cross dating back to 1907 that stands in front of the church

The Village Council building in Prushyn

The Village Council building in Prushyn


The 1907 roadside cross opposite St.Nickolas the Bishop Church,  the village of Prushyn

The 1907 roadside cross opposite St.Nickolas the Bishop Church, the village of Prushyn


a4d76710-69f8-11ee-8880-55e1a85b718f.JPGa3368850-69f8-11ee-805d-4184bdc6b5e6.JPG
The building of the Voluntary Fire Brigade/St.Florian's statue at the firefighters' HQ.
The inscription under the figure of the paton saint reads,

de3f1dc0-6dc4-11ee-9b11-4da94e08e19d.JPG

Saint Florian, watch over the people of hard and dangerous work,
strengthen them in their devotion to their service in saving people’s lives and property.

With gratitude for 100 years of care
Volunteer fire brigade guardians from OSP Pruszyn
1916 - 2016
OSP Pruszyn
Pruszyn 18.09.2016

We followed the main road and turned left in the direction of Siedlce Motorway. We walked in the western direction along The River Liwiec Street until we reached the village limit.

Walking along the main street in the village of Prushyn

Walking along the main street in the village of Prushyn


a58644b0-69f8-11ee-a835-652ebaad9817.JPGa5582fd0-69f8-11ee-a7c1-4bcf4eb26e66.JPG
The Liwiec Valley Street in the village of Prushyn.
The village fields, Prushyn

The village fields, Prushyn


divider_35.JPGdivider_35.JPGdivider_35.JPG

The village of Prushynek inhabited by about 300 residents adjoins the village of Prushyn.

5c569c90-69f8-11ee-8383-1feab1c45aaa.jpg5e125650-69f8-11ee-8383-1feab1c45aaa.jpg
The red sign "Obszar Natura 2000" reminded us that the Liwiec Valley belonged to the National Protected Areas.
St.John Nepomucene's chapel in  the village of Prushynek

St.John Nepomucene's chapel in the village of Prushynek


St.John Nepomucene is very revered here, like in many other villages and towns we visited in Poland.
Walking along the main street in  the village of Prushynek: roadside chapels and crosses

Walking along the main street in the village of Prushynek: roadside chapels and crosses


Walking along the main street in  the village of Prushynek

Walking along the main street in the village of Prushynek


The village store in  Prushynek

The village store in Prushynek


divider_36.JPGdivider_36.JPGdivider_36.JPG

We also passed the tiny village of Błogoszcz, whose number of residents is about 200. It is one of the one-street villages. However, it has its own leisure center and a volunteer fire brigade.

294ab880-69f9-11ee-805d-4184bdc6b5e6.jpg2a1f4690-69f9-11ee-889a-2f63cfd42b4a.jpgForest roads in  Błogoszcz, Siedlce County

Forest roads in Błogoszcz, Siedlce County


29c23270-69f9-11ee-8383-1feab1c45aaa.jpg28a9e4a0-69f9-11ee-a7c1-4bcf4eb26e66.jpg
The Voluntary Fire Department building with a jubilee memorial plaque.
The memorial plaque contains a very special image of Archangel St.Michael, the patron saint of all firefighters.
divider_41.JPGdivider_41.JPGdivider_41.JPG

The village of Golice has about 600 residents. It lies on the Siedlce-Korczew motorway.

Passing the village of Golice, Siedlce County

Passing the village of Golice, Siedlce County


Martyrs of Pratulin Memorial Cross, an evening view, Siedlce

Martyrs of Pratulin Memorial Cross, an evening view, Siedlce

We were glad to see this 33-meter cross nicely lit in the evening, when we walked back home. This cross faces Northern Street commemorating the Mass that was held here on June 10, 1999, when over half a million of the faithful gathered here to listen to Pope John Paul II pronouncing his Homily dedicated to the Cross and to the memory of the Martyrs of Podlasie.

135a6a80-e7cc-11ec-8a1c-511fa4767a50.jpg135a6a80-e7cc-11ec-8a1c-511fa4767a50.jpg135a6a80-e7cc-11ec-8a1c-511fa4767a50.jpg

Posted by Vic_IV 09:04 Archived in Poland Tagged masovia mazovia siedlce oginski

Email this entryFacebookStumbleUpon

Table of contents

Comments

nice pictures of the many, many villages ... thanks for sharing! :)

by Ils1976

You are welcome, Ils! We want to visit more...

by Vic_IV

This blog requires you to be a logged in member of Travellerspoint to place comments.

Login